Current Beauty Favorites (Makeup and Skincare)

Hi, everyone! This post is my very first beauty favorite’s kind of post ever. So that means most of the products that will be mentioned here are my favorites of no particular time span. Some of the products here are my favorites since 2016. I will make it a point to do monthly favorites next time. So subscribe if you want to keep updated. (#shamelessself-promo)

(Apologies for a long rambled intro) Anyway without further ado, let’s get into the products I currently love. Let’s start with skincare related stuff.

St. Ives Fresh Skin Apricot Scrub

18302470_120300003515014234_1441756412_n

The St. Ives Fresh Skin Apricot Scrub has recently been my face’s life-saver. I have never known that my skin was so rough until last year, November 2016 that I discovered this scrub. I gently scrub it all over my face for a good 2-3 minutes then I rinse it off with water. My skin always feels baby soft and super smooth after using this. It greatly helps my other skincare products to really sink into my skin since it gets rid of the dead skin. This is a really abrasive kind of scrub so I would recommend you to work with a light hand with this. It is also recommended to use once or twice a week.

This product also claims to be a 100% natural exfoliant with 0% sulfate and paraben.

Myra Vita Smooth Hydrating Facial Moisturizer

18217917_120300003519718909_8842036_n

Myra-e is a product that I have never really noticed to stand-out when it comes to skincare. They have a ton of beauty products and they are best known for their Vitamin E supplements. I have not really heard any Filipino blogger rave about Myra-e (since it is a Philippine brand) but this one is such hidden gem. The Myra Vita Smooth Hydrating Facial Moisturizer is such a good product. It hydrates my face and gives me a nice cooling effect. I like it because foundation sits very well on top and it doesn’t leave my face oily and greasy. It sinks in very quickly too which is a plus because not everyone has the time to wait for their moisturizer to sink in so they can do their makeup.

I have been using this for a good 4 months now. So far, it’s still in my skincare stash.

Avon Naturals Whitening UV Protector SPF 30 PA +++ in Rose & Pearl

18253843_120300003511177467_1845357077_n

Whenever I go out and I know that I will be exposed to the sun, this product has always been a staple for me. The Avon Naturals Whitening UV Protector SPF 30 PA +++ in Rose & Pearl is so good at moisturizing my face while protecting it from the harmful rays of the sun. The only thing that I don’t like about this though is that it leaves a white cast like most moisturizers with SPF do. However, I can look past that since it’s protecting my skin. I have discovered this product last year, August 2016 and I’m actually almost finished on this. I think I will not be repurchasing it yet since I ordered another sunscreen. Surprise, surprise! A haul is coming very soon. Anyway, this product is amazing nonetheless.

Vaseline Healthy White SPF 30 PA +++ Serum

18253876_120300003515924312_366717297_n

As far as sunscreens go, our body needs the same amount of protection from the sun’s harmful rays as much as our face does. The Vaseline Healthy White SPF 30 PA +++ has been my go to recently. What I like about it is since it is a serum; it sinks in quicker than most lotions and body moisturizers. It’s also non-greasy and has a pleasant scent. I don’t really think it whitens my skin, although I’m not really up for whitening because I love my natural color. Moreover, if you are on the market for a sunscreen that’s non-greasy, good at moisturizing and very affordable, this one is what I can recommend.

Vaseline Lip Therapy (Rose)

18253960_120300003522835623_212274485_n

I think this one has by far the best beauty discovery I’ve ever had in 2017. The Vaseline Lip Therapy in Rose has saved my dry, chapped and crusty lip. I love wearing liquid lipsticks and I have observed it as one of the biggest factors as to why my lips are so freaking dry. But this one is like a healing salve. It’s probably just plain petroleum; I honestly don’t know what’s in it since the ingredients are not written at the tub. But holy cow! This stuff is so good. I mean there are probably better lip balms and oils out there that work wonders for your lips, but the Vaseline Lip Therapy has been my lips from chapping recently.

Moving on to makeup, I only have 3 things to show you and I’ll start with lips.

WetnWild Silk Finish Lipstick (Dark Wine)

18280066_120300003529725437_1928830437_n 18254636_120300003532014641_149801512_n 18254267_120300003526039519_1448122524_n

If you are looking for a good quality lipstick but you do not want to spend so much money, then you need to try the Wet&Wild Silk Finish Lipstick. The shade Dark Wine, in particular, is my favorite out of all their shades in this line. It’s a dark red with a hint of a purple undertone, although it may not look like it on camera. To be honest, I’m not a fan of the lighter shades in their silk finish line. It just too frosty and they do not look flattering on me. But the darker shades are gorgeous especially this one.

LA Girl Matte Flat Finish Pigment Gloss (Fleur)

18279949_120300003501500080_547379356_n 18217892_120300003534588111_1265659154_n 18281061_120300003521427684_1998252230_n

I have read very mixed reviews about the LA Girl Matte Flat Finish Pigment Gloss. Some people say it’s horrible as it is very sticky, it patches and it’s very drying. Other people swear by it and say it’s amazing. This was actually featured in Kathleenlight’s underrated makeup products video in YouTube. Moreover, I have to agree at some of the negative reviews on this. It is quite sticky and tacky and the dark shades are very patchy. However, the red and nude shades are not patchy at all. The shade Fleur, in particular, has been my favorite. If I am looking for a matte peachy nude liquid lipstick, this one has been my go-to.

LA Girl Pro Conceal High Definition Concealer

e74874bb-da29-45e2-ba67-0d62c3cfbbb8_1.e12b8db1e0be9c3d4f8b3a3a9c1d2280

I don’t typically wear foundation on a daily basis. In covering up redness and blemishes, I solely rely on this bad boy. The LA Girl Pro Conceal High Definition Concealer is probably one of the best concealers at the drugstore. It gives high coverage and it never cakes on me. I have heard a lot of beauty gurus rave about this product and I’m gonna say, it’s definitely worth the hype.

Maybelline Hyper Curl Volume Express Waterproof Mascara

18280225_120300003512089595_1096306162_n

Last but definitely not the least is the Maybelline Hyper Curl Volume Express Waterproof Mascara. This stuff is my perfect everyday mascara. I like because it gives my lashes length and volume without making it look like I’m wearing too much mascara. A huge plus is it’s extremely affordable. I would highly recommend this mascara if you are just starting out makeup or if you are in school and you don’t want to wear makeup but wants a bit of life to your eyes. Anyway, I won’t be going into too much detail because I actually have a separate blog post dedicate to this product. You may check it out here.

Wrap up!

That’s all the things I have loved for the past months. Do let me know in the comments below your current beauty favorites and I am sure to check those out. Thank you so much for taking the time to read this post.

P.S

Please subscribe if you haven’t yet. And don’t forget to follow me on my Social Medias.

Love,

Vanessa

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Current Beauty Favorites (Makeup and Skincare)

  1. I remember wearing that Wet n Wild Dark Wine lipstick for months and months back when I was just starting to appreciate the beauty makeup. Oh how time flies. Haha. And I feel the same way about the LA Girl Matte Glosses. I find them seriously tacky and patchy, even Fleur. And I actually bought them because I saw them on Kathleenlights’s channel 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love those lipsticks and the mascara. I have a heap of really expensive mascaras but I keep going back to my $7 Maybelline drug store mascara. You can’t beat it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

